Apple

iMac thoughts? - Page 1

All of this f**** iPod Touch, I am now addicted to apples.
Yes, I'm a newbie when it comes to Macs in general, but all this glass+aluminum goodness simply does it for me.

So... I'm aiming for the newest iMac and particularly the 27" model. (I love large desktops)
But, there's an option between the better and "best" gfxcards and ofcourse there's the dual-core "Core2 Duo" processor versus the quad-core "Core i5" processor.
For whatever reason I find it nearly too expensive to go for the i5-model, but upgrading the dual-core model with the better ATI-card leaves only a small money gap for going all-in to the i5.

Thoughts? Comments?
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:
I have the last gen 2.66 20" iMac. It is pretty awesome.

I hear there are lots of issues with the 27" coming right out of the factory. You may do better to get a refurbished 24" with the ATi 4850 (same option as the 27"). The only downside is that you get 2 ram slots instead of 4.
Stuff.
Yes, I'm aware of the rescent "issues" regarding the 27" and so far it seems that Apples official statement is the gfx-cards to blame for all the flickering. The cracked screens is another issue not related to the ATI boards, of course. ;)
:O3200: :Fuel: :Indy: :O3x02L:
i'm waiting for early next year hoping the issues calm down. then i'll buy the awesomest one i can :)
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596
I bought one for my parents for Christmas - it's in the spare bedroom waiting to be wrapped. I'm not going to mess with it until I give it to them though :)
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
nekonoko wrote: I bought one for my parents for Christmas - it's in the spare bedroom waiting to be wrapped. I'm not going to mess with it until I give it to them though :)

Hopefully they don't read your site before Christmas then.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー