SGI: Hardware

Help needed with a Power Challenge L - Page 1

Folks,

today I got my hands on a Power Challenge L Deskside in near mint condition. The previous owner made a clean shutdown but left the machine connected to the mains in order to avoid problems with faulty capacitors. When I entered the machine room in order to grab this gem, the Challenge showed a POKB-Error in the System display. Not too good I think. We switched the circuit breaker on the back of the system to "Off" and I hauled the machine over to its new location. After reassemby of the FLDs (three HDDs and a CDROM), plugging in the power connector, switching the circuit breaker to "On" and turning the key to the "I" position nothing happens. Absolutely nothing. No fan noise, no LED's, no System Display. The PSU seems to have some Indicator LEDs for DC and AC - both dead. I checked the cable, it's OK. I'm new to the Eveready machines so please apologize for some noob questions: Did I forget anything in order to power this machine on? I checked the Challenge Owner's Guide but I didn't find any additional steps. Is there a chance that the PSU died after showing this POKB-error and disconnecting it from the mains? I think dis- and remounting the PSU could be worth a try but I can't find any hint how to remove the back cover of the system. Again, apologies but I checked the Challenge related posts on Nekochan for some advice or a link to a SGI document but to no avail. It would help me a lot if anyone here would be able to provide me a link to an appropriate maintenance guide or if anybody would be so kind to point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

Cheers
HDC