SGI: Computer Graphics

Through the Looking Glass - Page 1

I've was working on our in-house scene graph library last week. We weren't getting very good surface reflection up close with Cube maps, so I justed added a planar reflection render-to-texture (FBO) option. So far so good, but I'm still wrestling with reflecting all the light sources (and shadowmaps!). Still kinda cool. Runs real-time (2 lights, 2 reflection surfaces updated each frame) at around 30 fps with fragment lighting and 5x5 PCF shadows in a pixel shader (Quadro FX 5600). Gonna take a bit of wrangling to get it working on the Onxy.
Nice work! Will be interesting to see how it does on the Onyx :)

All Rights Reserved.
squeen wrote:
so I justed added a planar reflection render-to-texture (FBO) option.

Cool; I just started learning about FBOs last week and was nicely surprised how much easier they are to use than p-buffers. I don't suppose IRIX has any support for them?

squeen wrote:
Gonna take a bit of wrangling to get it working on the Onxy.

Wasn't the traditional OpenGL method to use the stencil buffer and draw the scene and reflection separately?
squeen wrote:
I've was working on our in-house scene graph library last week. We weren't getting very good surface reflection up close with Cube maps, so I justed added a planar reflection render-to-texture (FBO) option. So far so good, but I'm still wrestling with reflecting all the light sources (and shadowmaps!).

No idea whether you could use it - but take a look at http://www.radiance-online.org/ anyhow - might just be the thing you are after.

I've looked at Radiance a bunch of times, but we are going for hardware accelerated (real-time). Also, I have an obsession for writing my own applications as part of the learning process.

It's been a crappy month at work. Thanks for letting me share one of the lighter moments.
squeen wrote:
It's been a crappy month at work. Thanks for letting me share one of the lighter moments.