IRIX and Software

Text editors.

vi and Nedit are my faves, but I was wondering what people use for general text editing and coding on Irix. vim? emacs? Other?
i hope this isn;t going to turn into yet another vi verses emacs thread they must account for over half of the theads on all forums around the world.

but yes i like vi if i am doing anything important if its just a quick script or a note i just use nano which is a pico clone with a few extras

Of course, vim has issues for me when running remotely...it just sits there. Anyone else have this issue.
I learned vi in a college unix class after I had been using linux for a few years. I like it because I know that it is on any system.

Stonent wrote:
I learned vi in a college unix class after I had been using linux for a few years. I like it because I know that it is on any system.

I aggree. One can pretty much jump on any Unix box and be sure that vi will be there.
Stonent wrote:

Same thing for me.
Well.... I´m quite comfortable with nedit´s syntax highlighting capabilities, but then it´s been ages since I seriously programmed. Does vi have extensible code highlighting? I need to write myself an OPL syntax highlighter sometime (Psion palmtop programming). For all things unicode I use yudit. It´s got a custom interface which is a bit of a pain sometimes, but it´s stable and let´s you write and save about every format under the sun. Especially try Armenian in emacs or vi.... it´s just not the same as in yudit... hehe.

I also feel like a major unachiever when I admit this, but I use Nedit. I like all the simple to use syntax highlighting, the search and replace is also fairly powerful, and the programmability of the macros and menus.
Nedit and joe my self.

I prefer not to use achiac editors that should have bitten the dust twenty or more years ago.