SGI: Computer Graphics

Graphics Question - Page 1

I am not a graphics expert so here goes.
I under stand that there is Ray-tracing and Scan-line Rendering.
Is there any software that would use OpenGL for animation?

Thanks.
OpenGL is mainly used for displaying the editing interface in a graphics application.
rendering is a software process that happens in non-realtime to create final output, with much higher quality than hardware typically can produce. there have been hardware-accelerated renderers, such as Gelato, but it has been discontinued.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:
IRIX is very OpenGL heavy, but again as robespierre said its different from rendering. Mostly the OpenGL comes in handy for what he said, games, video editing and other graphically intensive tasks. Keep in mind, many CGI studios used tech for many, many years after it was replaced. I think Fox Animation ( Titan AE ) used either Indys or Indigo2s for the 3D of that movie. I could be wrong, I'm kinda drunk right now.
Entire collection up for sale :(
How about Machinima or the program Iclone?
Would an SGI machine accelerate any of that?
If I were to use software GL, is there any reason I could not make a high resolution image ( a single frame with say a million polygons ) with textures and save that as a jpeg?
edit=2;
AFAIK Machinima is by definition realtime, so yes, it would be GL accelerated. But Iclone isn't available for IRIX, AFAIK. Theoretically, any realtime application will be accelerated. You're going to face bottlenecks with the CPU and GPU though, especially on older hardware. My Octane2 is roughly as good as an early AMD64 desktop at doing that stuff, but I put probably $500 in this system to get it where it is.

For a hi-res image with textured triangles you'd need a pretty hefty system to do that in realtime. Pre-rendered? You'd be able to do it with most of what you're going to find.