Everything Else

OpenSource and Real World colour.

<announcement type="public service">

Some of you lot might have had to do with Real Colour on Real Printing Machines. Some of you might not.

Either way, this is your friendly reminder that colour calibration can be a bit of a Black Art and that most OpenSource gfx software still has issues when it comes to colour for print. Not entirely the OpenSource community's fault, but nonetheless the Scanner->GIMP->Inkscape->PDF->Real Printing Machinery workflow isn't without speedbumps.

</announcement>
:Fuel: redbox 800Mhz 4Gb V12
This is why I still work with InDesign, even though I really want to give Scribus a shot. :(
I don't work in printing, so I have no direct experience with this, but I hear frequent mention of the color issue from graphic artists commenting on GIMP, Inkscape, Scribus, etc. Are there any open source tools that handle color to industry standards?
wenp wrote: I don't work in printing, so I have no direct experience with this, but I hear frequent mention of the color issue from graphic artists commenting on GIMP, Inkscape, Scribus, etc. Are there any open source tools that handle color to industry standards?

Even before you get to the application level, you're screwed. Loonix has lcms and lcms2 which are supposed to do color management but ... the most basic step in color management is that your monitor has to match a standard. If what you are looking at is off, then it will obviously print "off".

(If you are doing the printing yourself, then you obviously also have to profile the printer. But commercial print shops are supposed to do this as a matter of course.)

Windows (and I am sure Mac) have profilometers that you drop over the monitor, then they tell the computer to display "red 3" (for example), then they compare the red 3 they see with what red 3 should be, then compensate for that with a profile that's loaded at startup.