SGI: Hardware

Prizm - Page 1

Hello. Newbie here.
I was wondering if getting a Prizm would be good for HD video work.
Do you prefer Mips or Intel?
If I buy a machine, is there any software and hardware I could get to test a machine out?
Thanks.
Welcome to Nekochan, Trekiej

Prizms cannot run IRIX as they run on the Itanium architecture. They run Linux, and they're kinda picky about what kernel version and variant you use. Adrenaline, a user here, has a Prizm I know.

I prefer MIPS myself, but I don't really do much video editing myself. A lot of the other guys on here have done it before and would be happy to chime in. Paging all video editors. uunix has a Tezro and does video editing - I don't know if its HD or not.
SGI:
:A3502L: Dual Itanium [email protected] 4GB Marisa
:Octane2: Dual R14000A@600MHz 2GB V12 Sakuya
Non-SGI:
HP C8000
HP EliteBook 8560p [email protected] 16GB Youmu FreeBSD 10.1/Windows 8.1
IBM IntelliStation 265 Dual POWER3-II@450MHz Jigoku-Karasu ( Hell Raven )

Incoming/On bench for repair/not in service:
2x :O3x0: Origin 300

For Sale: O2 DIMMS, Octane and O2 caddies.
Thanks, I see that there are some Onyx machines for sale online. I think I might pick up a machine for the fun of it if the price is right.
Onyx machines are nice, if you have the space. Onyx and Onyx2 desksides aren't too big, about the size of a mini-fridge and 100 - 150 kilos, but the racks can weigh in three times that. At least some, if not all of, the models require 240V hookup.
SGI:
Non-SGI:
HP C8000

Is Irix hard to get?
I guess Linux Itanium should be relatively easy to get.
My Octane2 is fsck-ing awesome, but it's not a Tezro.

I've started video editing and I'm planning on a you tube for 'really' beginners (like I am) when I buy final bits, but I can do 1080p & 720p currently. I think though gocram is the more knowledgeable one than I.