SGI: Hardware

Small upgrades for an octane. Hobbyist best choice??

I was wondering, as a hobbyist, i wanted to makes some minor upgrades(as in low-cost) on my Octane box. Like switching the SI board for an MXE+Trams (found some cheap) and i got a load of memory on its way (thanks el_mariachi)

But i was wondering about the processor... I found a dual R10k 250Mhz 1Mb cache for about 40$... is it worth replacing the single R12k 270Mhz 2mb cache? since im still kinda struggling with things as stupid as installing new packages. but i do know that i can push the cpu to its limits doing basic stuff like web surfing...

Oh and another thing, tough not hardware related. How does one configure GR_OSVIEW ? mine only shows the cpu column, nothing else.
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.
gr_osview -a

regards

laurent
SGI or die !!!
:O2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :PI: :Crimson: :PWRSeries: :Onyx: :O2000R:
HP proliant DL 585 Quad Opteron dual core 2.5Ghz 16Gb
henrycault wrote: I found a dual R10k 250Mhz 1Mb cache for about 40$... is it worth replacing the single R12k 270Mhz 2mb cache?

That depends on what you're doing with it ... For web browsing, you want a single fast CPU, whereas, for example, rendering would be faster with dual slightly slower CPUs.
If you're able to find a cheap dual 300 with 2MB of L2 cache, it would provide a speedup in both tasks from your current configuration.

henrycault wrote: How does one configure GR_OSVIEW ? mine only shows the cpu column, nothing else.

See the man page, it has instructions on configuring a ~/.grosview file where you can specify which columns you want it to display.
yeah thanks, i did found gr_osview -a after looking at the man pages...