HP/DEC/Compaq

Putting the C8000 to good use? - Page 2

SAQ wrote: HP did go through a period where they thought they'd challenge SGI for graphics, but the software end of it just wasn't there.

neither was the hardware :P
Well, the FireGL cards weren't bad for the day. When I was a consultant slut, I maintained a C3750 the biology department had an NSF grant for doing protein visualization on.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred , 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy , 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze , 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce , Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...
'consultant slut' is a new one on me. I used to use 'intellectual prostitute' or EKS (Evil-Kontractor-Scum). Happy days...
Image , VAXstation 4000/90 x2, VAXstation 4000/VLC x2, AlphaServer 1000A, DEC AXP 3000/600 (desktop), DEC AXP 3000/600 x2 (rackmount), DEC AXP 3000/800 (rackmount), AlphaServer 300 4/266, Sun Ultra 5, LA75, PP404, Juki 6100, Brother HR10
urbancamo wrote: 'consultant slut' is a new one on me. I used to use 'intellectual prostitute' or EKS (Evil-Kontractor-Scum). Happy days...

Remember: if you're not part of the solution, there's good money to be made in prolonging the problem.
smit happens.

probably posted from Image bruce , Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...
SAQ wrote: HP did go through a period where they thought they'd challenge SGI for graphics, but the software end of it just wasn't there.

They did and they won, on the desktop at least, just not with HP-sUX.
"Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a
pyramid with thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?"