SGI: Computer Graphics

Maya complete 5.01 for IRIX

I'm thinking of purchasing (for work) the lastest Maya for IRIX. What should I consider? Ultimately, we want a tool for preping images for a simulation running OpenGL Performer. I have NO experience in this field, and am wondering if we can use Maya (or another package) to dress up our Pro/Engineer models for display in the simulation.

I'm not sure OpenGL Performer can even read Maya data, or that Maya can import CAD models (can Maya generate CAD models? -- is that what Studio is for? -- is Studio availible for IRIX any more? -- Is Maya even the right ool for this knid of work?)

H E L P ! :?
Well, if you go for Maya, complete should do you better than unlimited, unless you need fur, water, and cloth effects.

As for the models, Maya will export to a format, which Irix has convertors for, so you could export them to a usable format. As for whether or not Maya is the right tool for the job, that depends on how much money you feel like spending for the job. It's a great modeller, but it may be overkill for some things.
i dont't quite understand what you are planning to do. if you need something to slap on UV's and textures onto existing (CAD-)models you'll need a paint program first and it seems that there's not much available. studio paint 3d from alias is very nice but very expensive as well. then there's amazon paint which is considerable cheaper.

maya would come in handy in the process for uv-mapping your geometry files, but maybe the free alternative blender would handle that job equally well?

or maybe i just didn't understand what kind of prepping up you plan to do, assuming you plan to use the models for realtime simulation?