Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks

Internet Connection for Indy - Page 1

Hello, I have an SGI Indy with IRIX 6.5 and I'm trying to setup it with an internet connection, but can't seem to figure out to successful through the 10Base-T port.
Nothing special is needed to get an internet or network connection through the twisted pair port. Just make sure you aren't plugging into the ISDN port instead. ;)

Whenever I do a fresh irix install I run through these instructions which also cover setting up the network interface.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.
I don't know if i have a DNS or not and I'm not very good at the DOS thing. This seems overly complicated for me. I wish i could just type in the main IP and then I'm done, but it's not that simple and then they have a FQDN that is just the same hostname of the PC.
the DOS thing

Is this how you call the command line interface?

What you need is:

"Toolchest" -> "System" ->"System Manager" -> "Networking and Connectivity" -> "Set Up and Start Networking"
I got there but the FQDN part that it's called or something doesnt look like this, ''IRIS.home.local'' for example it just show's the full name as it being IRIS (which is the name of the computer). I don't get the FQDN part. I looked on another PC to get the I.P. and the FQDN or the full name is TIMS-PC so i really don't get the thing with the " . " Sorry, I'm a newbie at this networking stuff. I just wanna hook it up to the Internet and it's really hard for me as I've never did this before.
What are the contents of your /etc/resolv.conf file? :?:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...
I'm not sure, I put it back in the box, but why can't it be as simply as typing in the IP and I'm done?
Because Un*xy things of that era don't work like that.