Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks

SGI o2 with a RED LED?

Hello there!
I am a bit new to SGI and MIPS based machines, so I have no clue what to do. I bought an SGI o2 off of eBay, which was told to be pulled from an active environment. I, however, did not have such good luck trying to get it to work. Whenever I plug it in, it turns on by it's self with a solid red LED. I can't turn it off from the power button so I need to cut the power just to turn it off. I did replace the processor (Like what SGIs troubleshooting said was the problem), but it didn't help me at all. So I am stuck with 4 extra R5Ks and a dead o2. Does anybody have a possible solution? (Note, I am a complete noob to SGIs...).

I however did contact SGI. They contacted me giving me troubleshooting steps for a SGI Octane (No help? lol). Does anybody know anything I can do? Since I am eager to get it running!

Here's my system specs (To my knowledge)...
-R5000 MIPS Processor (Mint condition)
-Audio/Visual module (Tried removing it. Didn't help)
-Dead CD-ROM drive.
-IBM Hard Drive (I believe it has Irix 5.3 on it)
-Sony APS-90 Power Supply

Thank you!
-Curt
What I own --> :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
Nice situation ... I've been there at least three times: LED red means the system is not running at all.

Most likely, the main board is toasted - it is quite fragile, pulling it with power cord plugged kills it for sure,
even when the power is off. Just recently I had to find out that a somehow dead CPU module can also kill it.

There' s a small chance to revive it through the "jumper" trick ... never did it for me, though.
Go search for a thread about it anywhere around here.

If you want a spare contact Ian Mapleson - maybe he's got some left he's willing to sell.
Valueing life is not weakness; disregarding it is not strength. -Mirage-
Hello curtjr4 - welcome to nekochan.