Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks

Octane won't boot - solid red on startup

Hello,

I am just getting into SGI's. I've wanted one forever, but finally started looking for one and bought one on ebay. I now have Octane cmnb015anf250. It's supposed to be a dual 270Mhz, 256MB ram, MXI video card, and a 36GB drive. The pictures from the ad showed it running, but upon arrival it will not boot. I hear the relay click when I plug it in. When I turn it on it goes green and then solid red with another click. I check the leds in the front and they look like the following

X
X0
0X

which seems right to me for what cards are installed. I have re-seated the XO cards, system board, memory chips, and cpu with no change. I figured it could be my monitor, so I disconnected everything and hooked a null modem cable to serial port 1 and I don't see anything. I'm using minicom which I have not used before, but I have it set to 9600 8N1 no flow control. Do I need to do anything in minicom to connect?

I'm not sure where to look next. Does anyone have any ideas that I could try?

I'm looking forward to getting the Octane up and running. I hope you guys can help me out.

Thanks in advance,

James
Update: I pulled the MXI card and now I see the POD on the serial connection. The led is still red and it doesn't seem to acept any commands over the serial cable yet.
hi jc! congrats for your new Octane hehe reminds me of my first experience too :)

ok im just a bit confused of your LEDs, which one are the lit ones? X or O? usually its the O right? if so then it means your system only has the PCI box, QD, QB and QC running, which is very strange.. but if you say X is the lit one, then BaseIO, QA and Heart is running, so this is more preferable, can you please confirm which one you mean to have a better understaning on the situation?