Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks

New to the neighborhood

Good afternoon neighbors,

Just wanted to say "hello" and introduce myself to the community here, looks like a fine place.

I am *hoping* to find/put together an Indigo2 or O2 system of the R10000 persuasion, to use for some hobby projects and indulge in a bit of nostalgia from my college days. From what I gather looking on eBay and craigslist/Atlanta, it seems it is going to be a bit of a scavenger hunt to find all the pieces, so any suggestions on other places to look and scavenge would be much appreciated.

In the meantime, nice to meet you folks :D

-Matt

SGI 320 dual 1 GHz, Apple Powerbook G4 1.67 GHz, Apple MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz
Welcome! can't help you with the hardware, I'm afraid, but I'd agree it's a fine place, and the nekoware repository is an excellent resource. As a relative newbie myself (some experience as a Linux user, but inspired to get an I2 by seeing one in action, quite briefly, in 1995ish rather than by past familiarity - and because I had a couple of empty ports on a KVM and was looking for something interesting with PS/2 KM that would fit on a desktop!) I can testify to the openness and helpfulness of the guys on here.

Andrew

<insert default reference to Ian Mapleson's SGI depot>

I can personally attest that the I2 is a great machine (having owned two purple ones myself), and a nice entry point to sgi hardware. Beware that the 250MHz version of the R4400 has an interesting bug (ISTR someone saying it's because the 250MHz version is essentially factory overclocked and thus is a little quirky) that it will recoverably freeze if left running and only resume when it gets network, keyboard or mouse input. At the time I set up one of my servers to ping the I2 every second so that I wouldn't have to get up and poke it while listening to music... :-)

:Fuel: bigred , 700MHz R16K, 2GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy , 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10