IRIX and Software

Any mercurial experts?

Hey guys, I'm trying to compile the Dillo browser, with an eye toward adding it to nekoware, using the MIPSPro compiler this time since there appear to be intractable problems with gcc, but after I made a ton of changes to three files in their most recent release (version 3.0.2), the authors told me to give up on that and start over using the tip of their mercurial repository. Admittedly, I had been bugging them a lot on their mailing list. So anyway, I want to merge my changes into the pull I made of their mercurial repository, but I'm a total mercurial newb. I mean, I think what I'm trying to do is really simple, but I just spent hours digging through the mercurial docs and so far I've got nuthin! So my question is, if I've got their latest and greatest in directory dillo3, and my changes to the 3.0.2 source are in directory dillo-3.0.2-irix-changes, how do I merge those changes back? What I tried, but that didn't work for reasons I don't pretend to understand:

From the dillo3 directory (note: all the changes that I made are "commited" in the dillo-3.0.2-irix-changes directory):

vishnu@starhunter:~/dillo3$ hg pull ../dillo-3.0.2-irix-changes/
searching for changes
adding changesets
adding manifests
adding file changes
added 3 changesets with 3 changes to 3 files
(run 'hg update' to get a working copy)

At this point I found that doing `hg update` doesn't merge the changes I made, it blows away the files with all the changes the authors have made since the 3.0.2 release and replaces them with the files I changed from the 3.0.2 release. So I undo that and instead try to merge:

vishnu@starhunter:~/dillo3$ hg merge
abort: there is nothing to merge - use "hg update" instead

What the hell? Did it not just tell me at the pull that it sees three changesets with changes to three files? And mercurial is supposed to be an improvement over CVS? :shock: